Waikanae Music Society - 2020 Concert Season

Sunday 26 September

Aroha String Quartet with
Rachel Vernon (clarinet)

“The Aroha Quartet made the most of all the effects and
beauties of the four movements, with many telling contrasts of
dynamics and articulation impressively communicated.”
(Tim Jones – Christchurch)


Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A, K581
Jack Body: Three Transcriptions
Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Opus 115

Aroha Quartet with Rachel Vernon

Zhongxian Jin, Konstanze Artmann, Haihong Liu, Rachel Vernon and Robert Ibell

The Aroha String Quartet is always a very welcome addition to our season. An integral part of the country’s musical scene since 2004, this versatile quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique and multicultural innovation. Haihong Liu and Zhongxian Jin, original members of the Quartet, were joined by Robert Ibell in 2009 and Konstanze Artmann in 2018. As well as the standard quartet repertoire, they enjoy adding traditional Chinese music and New Zealand works to their programmes. For this concert they present New Zealander Jack Body’s Three Transcriptions. Ever popular with audiences, it features transcriptions of music for a Chinese harp, a Madagascan zither and a Bulgarian village band.

Aroha frequently combines with other musicians to present works for larger ensembles and for this concert they welcome NZSO clarinettist Rachel Vernon to present two of the greatest
clarinet quintets ever written – by Mozart and Brahms. Mozart’s Quintet is a timeless musical masterpiece, and as the first composition ever written for this combination it has inspired many composers including Brahms. Brahms was in the twilight of his career when he composed his masterwork which contains some of the most exquisitely beautiful musical lines and colours of any chamber work ever composed.